Class Descriptions

Hatha Yoga

Hatha Yoga is the oldest form of Yoga, also known as the Classic Yoga. It was invented by monks thousands of years ago that got physical problems due to sitting and meditating all day. As you can imagine, sitting still for hours on end, is not so effective for digestion, your muscles don’t get movement and so on. So they invented the first Yoga, Hatha Yoga.

‘Hatha’ means ‘stubborn’. It is a type of yoga that requires some perseverance to come into a comfortable steady position (asana). Another feature of Hatha Yoga are the relaxation poses between every asana. They are there to catch your breath, to help the body calm down and to prevent the buildup of lactic acid. This kind of Yoga is therefore very accessible to all people, so also newbies to Yoga.

Read about the advantages and more by clicking here.

Vinyasa Flow

Vinyasa Flow Yoga is a kind of power Yoga. It warms up the body. ‘Vi’ means ‘special’ and ‘Nyaas’ means ‘order’. There are numerous other ways it can be translated but we stick with the ‘special order’ for now. In Vinyasa Yoga the transitions to get to the next pose are just as important as the asanas (positions). This means that it is a very active kind of Yoga, wherein you are active for most of the time of the practice. There are not many relaxation poses in between. ‘Downward Facing Dog’ can be seen as a home base, as this is a pose where you will often catch up with your breath.

Do you want to read about the benefits and more? More information you find here.



A class consisting of both yoga styles is also an option. Here you’ll get a bit of both worlds.


Individual, duo and Friends Yoga classes can also be scheduled on request.

For more information, please contact Nagabandhu Yoga.